Reattribution tracking
Reattribution is the process of assigning a user an updated source of mobile attribution following their initially attributed install. Typically, reattributions are recorded for retargeting or re-engagement campaigns, since these advertising efforts are designed to reinvigorate in-app activity from your existing user base.

Typically, reattributions are session based. So, if a user begins a new session and is eligible for reattribution (as defined by your inactivity period) and has engaged with an Adjust-tracked source (that qualifies based on your reattribution window) Adjust will reattribute said user to a tracked source beyond their source of install.

Once a user becomes reattributed within Adjust, all of their subsequent in-app activity will be associated with their source of reattribution. All of your users can be reattributed countless times within Adjust. Also, due to the fact that reattribution relies on engagement with an Adjust-tracked source, none of your users with ever be reattributed as organic traffic.

Reattribution Basics

Inactivity period

Your inactivity period is the minimum amount of time a user must be dormant in your app before they become eligible for reattribution. Inactivity periods are defined in consecutive days. Therefore, if your inactivity period is 7 days, a user can’t open your app for a straight week before they can be reattributed within Adjust.

Your inactivity window is the minimum amount of time a user must be inactive in your app before Adjust will consider

By setting your inactivity period to 0, a user can become reattributed within a single app session. App sessions are also defined by periods of inactivity. A user has to be inactive for at least 30 minutes before they trigger a new app session in Adjust.

Inactivity period settings
Minimum: 0 days
Maximum: 365 days
Recommended: 7 days

Reattribution window

Your reattribution window defines how long engagements are eligible for reattribution. For example, if a user clicks or views an ad when your reattribution window is 30 days, they have one month to open your app and become reattributed in Adjust.

You can set separate reattribution windows for clicks and impressions:
 

Engagement typeReattribution window settingsValid identification types
ClicksMinimum: 1 day
Maximum: 30 days
Recommended: 7 days
List of accepted device identification types
ImpressionsCan be set in hours or in days.

Hours
Minimum: 1 hour
Maximum: 24 hours
Recommended: 24 hours

Days
Minimum: 1 day
Maximum: 7 days
Recommended: 1 day
List of accepted device identification types
 

Track reattributions

Adjust users can be reattributed through clicks, deeplink reattribution, and impressions.

Track reattributions via clicks

All incoming clicks (recorded with a valid advertising ID) are eligible for reattribution in Adjust.

Example tracker URL:
https://app.adjust.com/abc123?idfa=<idfa>

This means that with every new user session, Adjust will verify if the user is eligible for reattribution (as determined by the inactive user definition). If Adjust can recall an incoming click that includes an advertising ID and qualifies for reattribution (as determined by the reattribution window), then the user will be reattributed to said click. Normally, reattributions to trackers like the one above will be associated with a retargeting campaign.
 

Track reattributions via self-attributing networks

If you are running campaigns with any self-attributing ad network, then Adjust will track reattributions automatically, with no additional setup required. As you may be aware, any time that Adjust tracks an app session, we send this data over to the self-attributing network. Since we are sending all sessions, not just first sessions (installs), a network may respond claiming the session because they have associated click data from this user. If this user is eligible for reattribution, then Adjust will automatically reattribute the user to the partner.

Stop tracking reattributions

Stop tracking reattributions via clicks

All incoming clicks are eligible for reattribution within Adjust. To disable reattribution tracking, you will need to append rt=0 to the query string of your Adjust tracker URL. Any incoming clicks recorded with rt=0 are not eligible for reattribution in Adjust, and will only be used for install attribution.

Example:
​https://app.adjust.com/abc123?campaign=UA-only&rt=0
If you would like to reduce the amount of reattributions recorded for a wide set of Adjust tracker URLs, then you may want to broaden your inactive user definition. The larger the window, the longer a user has to be inactive in order to be eligible for reattribution. Therefore, if you set your inactivity period to 365 days (1 year) then you will be less likely to track reattributions within Adjust.

Stop tracking reattributions via self-attributing networks

To disable automatic reattribution tracking for any self-attributing network, simply follow the instructions below.
  1. Findo your app and select your app options caret (^)
  2. Select Partner Setup
  3. Select a self-attributing network
  4. Turn off Reattribution tracking
This prevents Adjust from reattributing user activity to any post-install app session for the self-attributing network.

Reattribution FAQs

What is an inactivity period?

An inactivity period is a specified length of user dormancy required for reattribution. If your inactivity period is set to 7 days, then all users must be inactive for 7 consecutive days before they are eligible for reattribution within Adjust.

The default inactivity period in Adjust is 7 days. However, Adjust customers at the Business Pro pricing plan (and higher) have the option to customize their inactivity periods.

What is a reattribution window?

A reattribution window is the maximum amount of time an engagement can be kept on record as a potential source of reattribution in Adjust.

The default reattribution window in Adjust is 7 days. However, Adjust customers at the Business Pro pricing plan (and higher) have the option to customize reattribution windows.

What are the requirements for reattribution?

In order for a user to become reattributed within Adjust, they must have:
  • Triggered an install (first session) that is tracked by Adjust
  • Engaged with an Adjust-tracked source (that is eligible as a source of reattribution)
  • Been inactive for a specific amount of time (as determined by your inactivity period)

How can a user become reattributed within Adjust? 

Users can become reattributed within Adjust through the following types of activity:
  • Click on an Adjust tracker URL (with advertising ID)
  • Click on a deeplink
  • Trigger a new app session claimed by a self-attributing network

Can Adjust reattribute users within the same app session? 

Yes, some versions of the Adjust SDK support reattribution within the same app session, i.e., instant reattribution. To reattribute your users within the same app session, you must: 
  • Integrate SDK version 4.11.4 or higher. (All previous SDK versions will only be able to reattribute users after the first session is complete.)
  • Set your tracker inactivity period to 0
Note: Instant reattribution works exclusively with Adjust's deeplink technology; this means that only clicks on deeplinks are eligible for instant reattribution. 

On this topic

On this topic