Set up Consent Expiry and Data Retention
Before you begin
Here's what you need to know before getting started.
Requirements
- Admin, Editor, or Custom Editor permissions
- Consent Expiry and Data Retention is only configured at the app-level.
SDK setup
- Adjust Android SDK v4.26.0+ or Adjust iOS SDK v4.25.0+.
To use this feature, you first need to download and set up the Adjust SDK for your platform. Once you have the Adjust SDK installed and configured, follow our Android / iOS developer guides.
(Optional) Set the SDK to receive user consent after install
To ensure that a user's measurement consent is sent after Adjust records the install session, you need to call the trackMeasurementConsent method after you call Adjust.onResume(). This is because Adjust.onResume() creates the install session.
How it works
These settings let you configure how long Adjust receives and uses a user’s data, and how long Adjust retains the respective data, based on the consent signal received from your app. You can set both the consent expiry period and the data retention period at the app level.
- Learn more about how Consent Expiry and Data Retention settings work
Rules for Consent Expiry and Data Retention settings
- Time is measured in
Months. - A month is defined as
30 days. - The consent expiry period cannot be equal to
0. - The user data retention period cannot be equal to
0. - Expiry and retention periods must be entered as values between
1and25. - The consent expiry period cannot be greater than the user data retention period.
Choose your Consent Expiry and Data Retention settings
- Under AppView, select All apps.
- Select your app.
- Select the Protection tab.
- Under Data privacy, select Edit, and turn on the Data privacy toggle.
- Enter a value for the Consent expiry period. Adjust receives and uses data for this time period. Once the consent expiry period ends, we no longer receive or use this user's data.
- Enter a value for the User data retention period. This is the maximum time Adjust retains the user's data. Once the user data retention period ends, we delete the user's data.
- Select Save.
Remove Consent Expiry and Data Retention settings
- Under AppView, select All apps.
- Select your app.
- Select the Protection tab.
- Under Data privacy, select Edit, and turn off the Data privacy toggle.
- Select Save.